Adulting is hard…

As adults, and parents I think it’s hard for most of us to find time for ourselves and live a little.

Life is all about responsibility and bills, and a major lack of sleep.

In a nutshell it’s hard.

Sure it’s life, and what makes it pretty amazing is what you make of it.

I know I am guilty of spending way too much time stressing over things I can’t control and letting them get in the way of me living.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately in light of all the tragic deaths and accidents in the world, (and because I turn 25 next year!)

Would I feel like I lived if something happened?

I’m not being morbid I promise.

But I don’t feel like I would have felt I lived before.

Don’t get me wrong, being a mom has always been what I wanted but even before becoming a mom my life lacked adventure and purpose.

Now I have both. Not just because I’m a mom but because I’m living.

A quote from the wise superhero The Flash:

“Life doesn’t give us purpose. We give life purpose.”

I have been trying to live this way for some time now.

I want Karter to know achieving your goals and making yourself happy is just as important as anything else in life.

So I created a bucket list for myself. Sure it may be cliche, but it lets me see how much I have achieved in such a short time. And how much more I have to look forward to. You know the YOLO no regrets kinda thing.

the-bucket-list-one-day-life-flash-morgan-freeman-quote-movie

Some things on my personal bucket list include:

  • Write a blog (I’m working on it, its not great but it makes me happy!)
  • Disney world (sure I’ll bring Karter but it’s totally for me)
  • Swim with Manatee’s
  • Learn to Surf
  • Surf in a Hawaiian ocean
  • Travel to 5 different countries
  • Compete in the New York Marathon
  • Finish a Mud Race (which I get to cross off this month)
  • Go on a road trip
  • Ride the London Eye

Then I have simpler things like,

  • Read all the books on my book list
  • Sleep in till noon on a Sunday (rebel I know)
  • Take contemporary dance lessons
  • Take an art class
  • Take a photo everyday for a year (which I have basically done a few times)

My list is long I’ll save you from the rest of it.

But the point is to maybe stop going through life with only stress and regret. I get it majority of the things you’d put on your list cost money so it requires you to be stressed and work. But take it little by little, I won’t get nearly half these things crossed off my list before I’m 50, but it gives me hope. I’ll be lucky to get them all crossed off in my lifetime.

But I think if I even got a quarter of it crossed off I’d feel more fulfilled on a personal level.

It also lets my child see that I am living for myself and him, not just a mundane life where I’m cussing at the world everyday for something. (I’ve had to stop doing that)

Do you have a bucket list? What’s on it?

If not, will you make one?

Leave a Reply

